Image

Day 1: Sprung from the Pound!

Hello!

I must start out my introducing myself! My name is Noah (née Casper!) and I am a 10 year old Maltese/Bichon mix!

Today has been one of the best and scariest days of my whole life….where to begin!

I came to be at the Mississauga Animal Services’ Shelter after being found by myself, underneath a car – and in quite a bit of pain, mind you!

My formerly long fur was matted all the way down to my skin and I had many rotting teeth in my mouth from lack of nutrition and noone to take care of me for so long! I can’t tell you exactly how long I was out there for, but it felt like an eternity!

Once I was discovered, I was brought into the shelter where my matted fur (which, unfortunately, was pretty much all of it!) was shaved off and I had to be taken to a vet to get my rotten teeth pulled! Ouch! Once all this was done, I begun my stay in the Animal Shelter’s pound. I can’t say I liked it here . I was always cold because I have so little fur right now and the other dogs were just so noisy! It was hard to even hear yourself think!

Although I was happy to be indoors with a blanket, a little bed and some food, I was still not the happiest pup. Little did I know, my future mommy had been thinking about me for a week, and was making plans to come get me!

On July 12, 2014 I woke up as usual to the sound of the other dogs barking – had a little sniff around, picked at my food, did my business – and then settled back down in my bed. The usual.

The dogs settled back down and let me nap for a bit. And then, around 1:00 in the afternoon, I awoke to more barking, and a man and a lady (who were to be my new mommy and daddy!) rushed over to my cage! As soon as she saw me, the lady left again – I was a bit sleepy, and confused about what was happening – and then as quickly as she had went away, she came back with leash. She opened the door to my kennel and carefully lifted me up, holding me against her, and went outside with the man.

The lady held onto me for a while and cuddled me – she didn’t seem to want to put me down! Which was okay with me. She then put me down on the grass and we walked around a little bit. I’m still getting used to being on a leash again. I’m also learning that the outside world isn’t such a bad place, so I’m a little unsure being led around. But that was okay, her and the man were very patient with me.

After about five minutes, we started heading inside again – Wait, why so soon? Why are we going back? I was just starting to like it out here!

I was put back in my bed in my kennel, and right away I got up and stood by the bars. The lady said something to me and left. Are they coming back, or are they going to be like the others and disappear? I sat there for a few minutes – and went back to my bed. I guess that’s it then. I rested my head on the side of my plastic bed and closed my eyes for a snooze.

And then – about five minutes later – half an hour – an hour??? Somebody that I’d seen before (I think she’s the one who gives me food) picks me up and takes me out again! Yes!

Even though I’m happy to be out of the kennel, away from all the barking, I’m still very scared and start shaking again. And then I see the man and the lady that had taken me out before. They look like they are waiting for me!

The lady that is carrying me does not hand me over to them, however, but sits down with me and holds me still. What’s going on here?

Ouch! I was just pricked with something sharp around the scruff of my neck and start bleeding a little. Was that necessary? What was that for?

(I pieced together later that it was a special little device that can find me if I get lost – I hope I don’t get lost again!)

Finally – I am handed back over to the nice man and lady who took me outside. And we are out the door!!!

We spend the rest of our day in stores that smell yummy, and I get my own collar with a bow on it. I was given lots of treats by nice people in the stores, and lots and lots of pats and cuddles.

After a loooong day (my new mommy had to carry me, as I had gotten so tired!) I spent the first night in my new bed, in my new home.  

I will update you more soon, but first, a 9 hour sleep in my comfy new bed!

 

Licks and snuggles,  

 

Noah

paw_prints

picture_280_2    paw_prints  

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Sprung from the Pound!

Leave a comment